Donations Click Here

Eating Parts of a Bird

In kashrut, what parts of the bird are allowed to be eaten?

Answer:

Provided the bird is of a kosher species, all parts of the bird may be consumed. Only in animals (mammals) are there parts that may not be eaten, and which are separated before the animal is eaten. Some write that although the Talmud only mentions the hearts of animals, even the heart of fowl should not be eaten, though not out of concern for kashrus, but because it causes a person to forget his wisdom (of Torah).

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *