if a pregnant lady craves for something not kosher is she permitted to eat it?

Answer:

This depends on the level of the craving, and on whether there is a kosher alternative.

Based on the laws of Yom Kippur, if a pregnant lady tells us of her craving for a food that is not kosher (or if “her face changes” out of craving), and there is no kosher alternative that would satiate her, then she should be told that the food is not kosher. If this does not help, then she should be given a small amount of the food — less than a shiur. If this still doesn’t help, then she is permitted to eat it.

Sources: See Shulchan Aruch 617:1-2; Mishnah Berurah 617:1, 5; Shulchan Aruch Harav 617:2.

Tags: Kosher pregnancy yom kippur

Share The Knowledge

Not what you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged Uncategorized Kosher pregnancy yom kippur or ask your own question.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *