For donations Click Here

Nuts in Cereal During Aseres Yemei Teshuva

Are you allowed to eat nuts that are part of a cereal (eg fruit n’ fibre /meusli) in the Aseres Yemei Teshuva?


This is permitted.

The entire practice of refraining from eating nuts is stated by halachic authorities specifically regarding Rosh Hashanah.

Even for those who wish to extend the practice into the Aseres Yemei Teshuvah, this will not apply to a cereal, where the food being eaten is the cereal, and the nuts are only used to give taste.

The custom, which is cited by the Rema, is based on the numerical value of the word egoz. If eaten as part of a cereal this ‘numerical value’ will not be isolated or recalled, and there is therefore no problem.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *