Question:

Are u allowed to use maybelline lipstick over pesach?

Answer:

Lipsltick is more promlematic than other cosmetics, because it goes on the lips and can be ingested. Therefore  you have to check the ingerdients to see if it has any chometz ingredients. Here is a list taken from R’ Blumenkrantz’s Pesach Book (2017).

Avena Sativa, Cyclodexterin, Dexterin Palmitate, Hydrolyzed Malt Extract,  Hyrolized Oat Flour, Hydrolyzed Vegetable Protein, Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein/Pvp Crosspolyner, Hydrolyzed Wheat Gluten, Hydrolyzed Wheat Flour,  Hydrolyzed Wheat Starch, Malt Extract, Maltodexterin, Secale Cereale (Rye) Seed Flour, QhWheat Protein Sulfunate, Tricitum Vulgare (Wheat) Germ Extract,  Tricitum Vulgare (Wheat) Germ Oil, Tricitum Vulgare (Wheat) Gluten, Tricitum Vulgare (Wheat) Starch,  Wheat Amino Acids, Wheat Germ Glycirides, Wheat Germamidopropalkonium, Wheat Protein, Yeast Extract.

Even if your lipstick does not have any of these ingredients, you should use a new one for Pesach, or at least take off a layer of your old one, which was used on your lips when there could have been residue of chometz on them.

Best Wishes

Tags: cosmetics on Pesach

Share The Knowledge

Not what you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged Non-food items on Passover cosmetics on Pesach or ask your own question.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *