Donations Click Here

Blessing on vegan cookies that contain (gluten free) oat flakes

Question:

Shalom,
What’s the proper blessing on vegan cookies (“rookies” brand, certified by Klbd) that contain dates, gluten free oat flakes, almonds (15%), coconut oil, ginger, cinnamon, baking soda and clove?
Thanks a lot

Answer:

It appears that the bracha is mezonos. The reaons is that frm the list of ingredieants, it appears that there is at least 15% oat flakes in the cookies. On the assumption that the cookies are baked, then the oats will be mezonos. Although the oats are not the main ingredient, but they are not there just to hold the cookie together, but for taste, body and for sustenance. therefore the bracha would be mezonos.

Hearty appetite

Sources:

O;CH 204-12.

Join the Conversation

2 Comments

  1. Thanks a lot for your answer! And what would be the halachah if the cookie was raw (meaning not baked). Would the law be the same?

    1. Yes. Then the oats would be hoadomo, and then we would have to evaluate which bracha has the highest percentage, shehakol, hoadomo, or haetz.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *