Donations Click Here

DRIED FRUIT ON PESACH #2

Question:

The REMAH 467:8 writes that dried fruits are customarily not eaten on PESACH. Sefordim do not have to follow the REMAH. However, is the ” customary prohibition” a blanket prohibition regardless, or if someone knows for sure that the dried fruit has no CHAMETZ, can it be eaten? Families have such a custom. Is it all dried fruit regardless?

Answer:

The Rema that you are quoting writes that if it is known that the fruits were dried in a permitted way, and that there are no problematic foods in them, that it is permitted. Therefore, if the dried fruits have Rabbinic supervision, then we consider it that we know that they are kosher for Pesach.

Best wishes

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *