Partner With Dinonline.org – Click Here 

Non Mevushal grape juice

Question:

Hi Rabbi,

I accidentally bought non- Mevushal grape juice and used it this past Shabbos. My husband who is not yet observant but as of recently doesn’t drive on Shabbos may have poured and drank from it. Is the grape juice still kosher? Or, Is it ok to continue drinking?

Thank you

 

Answer:

The grape juice is still permitted to use. The reason is because almost all grape juice especially if it is commercially produced is pasteurized, and the pasteurization makes it mevushal. Pasteurization is done at about 160F which is considered mevushal according to R’ Moshe Feinstein zt”l. Therefore the grape juice is permitted to drink

Best wishes

Sources:

 

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *