To Donate Click Here

Kashrus of vegetarian vitamins

Question:

B”H
Kavod haRav,
Regarding taking a vegan vitamin that does not have kosher certification, may I take this vitamin with the following ingredients:
DIM (Diindolylmethane)
black pepper fruit extract (those 4 words are listed as one item)
Vegetable Cellulose
Organic Rice Concentrate
Thank you.

 

Answer:

Thank you for your question.

It is definitely preferred to get such vitamins with a hechsher, however in retrospect, I contacted a kashrus professional and he said that the Organic Rice Concentrate could have an issue of bishul akum, but there is room for leniency.

Best wishes

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *