To Donate Click Here

Bnei Noach Making Brachos

Question:

BS”D

Shalom Rab, Is it allowed for a Bnei Noach to make a brachos on a non-kosher food, for example: a non-kosher meat?

 

Answer:

Thank you for your question.

It is permitted for a non-Jew to make brachos, as long as he means to make the bracha to Hashem. In fact, we would even answer amen to his bracha, if we heard the whole bracha. The fact that the food is not kosher for Jews doesn’t matter for the non-Jew, as he is not obligated to eat kosher food. The only restriction would be, that the food should not be considered ever min hachai (food taken from a live animal), because a gentile is forbidden to eat such meat, and therefore can not make a bracha on it. Other than that, he can make brachos on the food he eats.

Best wishes

Sources:

תלמוד בבלי מסכת ברכות דף נא עמוד ב וז”ל “ועונין אמן אחר ישראל המברך, ואין עונין אמן אחר כותי המברך, עד שישמע כל הברכה כולה”. וכן כתב הרמ”א שולחן ערוך אורח חיים הלכות ברכת הפירות סימן רטו סעיף ב “הגה: ועונין אמן אחר עכו”ם, אם שמע כל הברכה מפיו (הר”י פרק אלו דברים)”.

 

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *