To Donate Click Here

Definitions of Jewish Books

What is Tanach, Chumash, Pentateuch and haftorah? Are they all the same thing ?


Chumash refers to the Pentateuch–the Five Books of Moses.

Tanach refers to all the canon of Holy Scripture, including the books of the prophets (Joshua, Judges, Samuel, Isaiah, and so on), and the additional books of King David and Solomon.

The Haftora refers to a the weekly reading from the books of the Prophets.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *