For donations Click Here



Is it true that we cannot eat mushrooms during pesach, because mushrooms are fungus not plant. Can you please explain why exactly we cannot eat fungus, if this is true.




Mushrooms are not inherently prohibited on Pesach, as they are not from the five grains, nor kitnios. However they do have a certain issue, because they are often grown on beds of rye, and chometz. canned mushrooms must also be processed on Kosher for Passover machinery.  However if there is a reliable certifying agency that says that it is kosher to use, then they may be used, unless one has a specific custom not to.

Chag sameach


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *