To Donate Click Here

Rennet in kosher cheese

Question:

Shavuah Tov.
Kosher cheese is usually made from rennet and sometimes from other kosher enzymes. I have researched the source of rennet online. It says that ‘traditional rennet,’ which is an animal source, was the original one used in cheese-making.
“The chymosin enzyme is collected from the stomach lining of calves…”

There is no indication on kosher cheese packages as to whether they use traditional rennet, although it seems unlikely in today’s mass produced kosher cheese markets to use the animal source of rennet.

However, I would be interested to hear your reply. If the rennet comes from an animal source, how can it be used to make kosher cheese? Jewish dietary laws do not allowed mixing milk and meat.

Thank you,

 

Answer:

Hello,

You point is very valid. Due to this concern, the Shulchan Aruch rules (Yora Deah 115-2 that in order for cheese to be considered kosher (even if the rennet is synthetic) there is a need for a Jew to watch not only the cheese making, but even the milking of the cow. Therefore, on a practical level, we may only eat cheese that has proper kosher supervision from a reputable supervising agency.

Best wishes

Sources:

שולחן ערוך יורה דעה הלכות מאכלי עובדי כוכבים סימן קטו סעיף ב “גבינות העובדי כוכבים, אסרום מפני שמעמידים אותם בעור קיבת שחיטתם שהיא נבלה. ואפילו העמידוהו בעשבים, אסורה. הגה: וכן המנהג, ואין לפרוץ גדר (ב”י), אם לא במקום שנהגו בהם היתר מקדמונים. ואם הישראל רואה עשיית הגבינות והחליבה, מותר (אגור פ’ שואל). וכן המנהג פשוט בכל מדינות אלו. ואם ראה עשיית הגבינות ולא ראה החליבה, יש להתיר בדיעבד, כי אין לחוש שמא עירב בו דבר טמא מאחר שעשה גבינות מן החלב, כי דבר טמא אינו עומד, ובודאי לא עירב בו העובד כוכבים מאחר שדעתו לעשות גבינות (הגהות אשיר”י פא”מ ובארוך). ומכל מקום אסור לאכול החלב כך (שם).”

 

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *