Donations Click Here

DRIED FRUIT ON PESACH

Question:

Can an ASHKANAZI eat dried fruit on PESACH. The products now have a KOSHER FOR PESACH SYMBOL. Is this restriction always in effect even if you know the dried fruit has no chametz, or if you know for sure it has no chametz, you can eat it?

Answer:

Dried fruit need require Passover certification for Ashkenazim and Sefardim alike. Sometimes the dried friuts are treated with oils to help facilitate the process. Some dried fruit producers will commonly use rice or oat flour or chemical release agents to coat their cut up fruit pieces to prevent sticking, as they are being packaged. Potassium sorbate is used to standardize the moisture in dried fruit.Therefore dried friuts need to have a Kosher for Passover symbol.

Best wishes

 

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *