For donations Click Here

Kashrus – Gelatin


Hi, what are the rules for using kosher meat gelatin with milky food? Please also advise on whether using fish gelatine is included in the prohibition to eat fish and milk together. Thank you


Kosher meat gelatin, is produced by cooking meeat bones. Therefore meat gelatin is considered meaty and should not be eaten together with milky foods. In fact you should also not eat milky foods after eating meaty gelatin the same way you would wait between eating any meat and milk.

Regarding eating fish and milk, the Ashkanazi custom is that we do eat fish even together with milk, however the Sefardi custom is not to.

Best wishes


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *